California's New Paid Sick Leave Law (AB 1522)
Effective July 1, 2015 the right to accrue and take leave is in effect for qualifying employees. An employee qualifies for paid sick leave by working for an employer on or after January 1, 2015, for at least 30 days within a year in California ( this includes part-time, per diem, and temporary employees) and by satisfying a 90 day employment period (which works like a probationary period) before an employee can actually take any sick leave.
Does your company have an in-house Human Resource specialist to implement the new changes, or have you consulted with an HR professional to maintain your compliance?
Does your payroll software or outside payroll service have the accruals set up and is the software ready to print this information on your employees paystub?
For more information, or to visit the Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ), see the Department of Industrial Relations below: